Tag Archives: Magic & Wizards

Letters from Father Christmas 25th Anniv

Author: J R R Tolkien Publisher: Harpercollins Product Description This revised edition of Tolkien’s famous illustrated letters from ‘Father Christmas’ includes extracts and pictures not included in the original publication 25 years ago. Every December an envelope bearing a stamp from the North Pole would arrive for J.R.R.Tolkien’s children. Inside would be a letter in […]

Betrayed (House of Night, Book 2)

Author: P. C. Cast Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin Product Description Fledgling vampyre Zoey Redbird has managed to settle in at the House of Night.  She’s come to terms with the vast powers the vampyre goddess, Nyx, has given her, and is getting a handle on being the new Leader of the Dark Daughters. Best of […]

The Lost Gate

Author: Orson Scott Card Publisher: Tor Books Product Description Danny North knew from early childhood that his family was different, and that he was different from them.  While his cousins were learning how to create the things that commoners called fairies, ghosts, golems, trolls, werewolves, and other such miracles that were the heritage of the […]

A Wizard of Earthsea (The Earthsea Cycle, Book 1)

Author: Ursula K. Le Guin Publisher: Bantam Product Description A boy grows to manhood while attempting to subdue the evil he unleashed on the world as an apprentice to the Master Wizard. Amazon.com Review Often compared to Tolkien’s Middle-earth or Lewis’s Narnia, Ursula K. Le Guin’s Earthsea is a stunning fantasy world that grabs quickly […]

Forever Neverland

Author: Heather Killough-Walden Publisher: Product Description It has been five years since Wendy Darling and her brothers returned home after a harrowing ordeal in which they’d “gone missing” for several days and nights. To Wendy, they returned by fairy magic, fresh from the fight with Captain Hook, a little mussed up but none the worse […]

The Complete Chronicles of Narnia CD Box Set

Rating: (38 reviews) Author: C. S. Lewis Publisher: HarperAudio Product Description Journeys to the end of the world, fantastic creatures, and epic battles between good and evil — what more could any reader ask for? The lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, written in 1949 by Clive Staples Lewis, had all this and more. But […]

The Absolute Sandman, Vol. 3

Author: Neil Gaiman Publisher: Vertigo Book Description The third volume collecting Neil Gaiman’s seminal, award-winning series starring the Dream King in deluxe format. ABSOLUTE SANDMAN VOL. 3 presents several key SANDMAN tales in a slipcased hardcover edition, including “Brief Lives,” in which the Sandman’s sister Delirium prevails upon her older brother to help her find […]

Fahrenheit 451

Rating: (1237 reviews) Author: Ray Bradbury Publisher: Del Rey Amazon.com In Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury’s classic, frightening vision of the future, firemen don’t put out fires–they start them in order to burn books. Bradbury’s vividly painted society holds up the appearance of happiness as the highest goal–a place where trivial information is good, and knowledge […]

Ender’s Game Boxed Set: Ender’s Game, Ender’s Shadow, Shadow of the Hegemon

Rating: (17 reviews) Author: Orson Scott Card Publisher: Tor Books Book Description Boxed Set contains Mass Market Editions of Ender’s Game, Ender’s Shadow, and Shadow of the Hegemon Ender’s Game Winner of the Hugo and Nebula Awards In order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race’s next attack, government agencies breed child […]

Children of the Mind (Ender, Book 4)

Rating: (199 reviews) Author: Orson Scott Card Publisher: Tor Science Fiction Amazon.com Children of the Mind, fourth in the Ender series, is the conclusion of the story begun in the third book, Xenocide. The author unravels Ender’s life and reweaves the threads into unexpected new patterns, including an apparent reincarnation of his threatening older brother, […]

The Man in the High Castle

Rating: (158 reviews) Author: Philip K. Dick Publisher: Vintage Book Description It’s America in 1962. Slavery is legal once again. the few Jews who still survive hide under assumed names. In San Francisco the I Ching is as common as the Yellow Pages. All because some 20 years earlier the United States lost a war–and […]

Stardust

Rating: (297 reviews) Author: Neil Gaiman Publisher: Harper Amazon.com Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of young Tristran Thorn […]